選擇語言
Home  /  準父母  /  Information About Conditions

Information About Conditions

染色體三體綜合症

染色體三倍體綜合症是一種因為遺傳基因失調而引起的染色體倍性現象,以致身體細胞分裂時,某一對染色體得到了三條,而不是正常的兩條。

21三體綜合症/唐氏綜合症

21三體綜合症,通常被稱為唐氏綜合症,是由21號染色體多出了一條而引起。不幸的是,大約30%的唐氏綜合症妊娠會流產。唐氏綜合症患兒因通常伴隨的健康問題,往往需要更多的醫療護理。大多數唐氏綜合症兒童有從輕微到中度的智力障礙。為幫助唐氏綜合症患者過健康和正常的生活,早期檢查已被證明是必需的。關於更多的資訊和支援,請參閱我們的資源頁面。

18三體綜合症/愛德華氏綜合症:

18三體綜合症,或愛德華氏綜合症,是由於18號染色體多出了一條而引起的。不幸的是,愛德華茲綜合症妊娠有流產的高風險,而且大多數患有愛德華茲綜合症的新生嬰兒將會在出生後幾週內死亡,只有小於10%存活超過一年。愛德華茲綜合症患者有嚴重的智力殘疾和出生缺陷,通常包括心臟,腦,腎,和外觀異常(如唇齶裂,小腦袋,畸形足,發育不全的手指/足趾,和小頜。

13三體綜合症/巴陶氏綜合症:

13三體綜合症,或巴陶氏綜合症,是由於18號染色體多出了一條而引起的。不幸的是,巴陶氏綜合症妊娠有很高的流產或死胎的風險,大多數患有巴陶氏綜合症的新生兒於出生一周內便會死亡。巴陶氏綜合症患兒可能有心臟病,腦或脊髓的問題,額外的手指或腳趾,裂唇和/或齶裂,以及肌力弱。許多巴陶氏綜合症嬰兒出生時還有其他器官的缺陷。

Deletion Syndromes

 

 

缺失綜合症是一組臨床可識別、以染色體小片段缺失為特徵的一類疾病。染色體缺失的大小和位置決定了病症的臨床特點和嚴重程度。

5P /貓叫綜合症:

也被稱為5p缺失綜合症,嬰兒頭圍通常偏小,出生體重偏低,肌肉張力弱;而且有中度到重度的智力殘疾;餵養和/或呼吸困難也很常見。

1p36綜合症:

1p36基因缺失綜合症的新生兒通常有肌肉衰弱,心臟和其他器官等缺陷。很多這樣的新生兒會出現發育的問題和不同程度的智力障礙。

2q33.1綜合症:

2q33.1缺失綜合症的新生兒通常會有生長遲緩及行為問題。出現嚴重的餵養困難的情況較為常見,齶裂發病率也很高。

Sex Chromosomal Aneuploidy

人類每個細胞中含有46條染色體,組合成23對。其中一對染色體為性染色體,決定人體性別。性染色體異常當染色體片段有額外的增加、缺失或改變,性染色體異常的情況出現。

XXY綜合症/柯林菲特氏綜合症:

柯林菲特氏綜合症是一種遺傳性疾病,只影響男性。受影響的男性有一條額外的X染色體。患有柯林菲特氏綜合症的男性睾丸較小,而且出生前和青春期時,都不能產生足夠的睾酮性激素。青春期時,缺乏睾丸激素使正常男性的特徵不能完全發育,會出現面部和陰部毛髮減少,有些人會發育出乳腺組織。睾酮性激素缺乏還會導致其他的症狀,包括不育症

XO /透納氏綜合症:

透納氏綜合症是由於女性缺乏部分或一條X性染色體而造成的。透納氏綜合症的女性往往有一系列明顯的症狀和表徵。其中,兩個症狀幾乎發生在所有的透納氏綜合症患者中:

-身高較平均為矮

-卵巢發育不全(女性生殖器官),導致月經週期不穩和不孕。

XXX /三體X綜合症:

三體X綜合症,也被稱為X染色體三體性,其特點是女性患者的每個細胞中都多出一條額外的X染色體。每個患者的症狀和身體特徵都有很大的差異。有些女性可能沒有症狀(無臨床症狀)或很輕微的症狀,臨床特徵並不明顯其他患病女性可能出現各種各樣不同的異常情況。

三體X綜合症會增加患上學習障礙、,語言和表達能力障礙的風險。遲發性運動技能的發展(如坐、走),肌肉張力減弱,或出現行為與情緒問題的情況有可能發生。。在不同患病人士中,其患病特徵有很大的差異。約10%的患病女性會出現癲癇或腎臟功能異常。

XYY /雅各伯綜合症:

XYY性染色體異常,又稱為雅各伯綜合症,為男性疾病。患病男性的細胞會出現額外一條Y染色體。

患者通常身材高大。許多患者青春期時會患有嚴重痤瘡。其他症狀包括學習障礙,或性格暴躁等行為問題。

Choose Your Language
Home  /  Expecting Parents  /  Information About Conditions

Information About Conditions

Trisomies

A trisomy is a term for a genetic condition in which there are three chromosomes instead of the usual pair.

Trisomy 21 / Down Syndrome:

Trisomy 21, more commonly known as Down Syndrome, is a condition caused by an extra copy of chromosome 21. Unfortunately, miscarriage occurs in about 30% of pregnancies with Down Syndrome. Those children born with Down Syndrome will need extra medical care depending on the child’s specific health problems. Most children with Down Syndrome have intellectual disabilities that range from mild to moderate. Early intervention has proven to be essential in enabling individuals with Down Syndrome to lead healthy and productive lives. For more information or support, please see our resources page.

Trisomy 18 / Edwards Syndrome:

Trisomy 18, or Edwards Syndrome, is caused when a baby has three copies of chromosome 18, instead of two. Unfortunately, pregnancies with Edwards Syndrome are at high risk of miscarriage and most babies born with Edwards Syndrome die within the first few weeks of life while less than 10% live beyond one year. Infants with Edwards Syndrome have severe intellectual disabilities and birth defects typically involving the heart, brain, and kidneys, and external abnormalities such as cleft lip/palate, small head, club feet, underdeveloped digits, and small jaw.

Trisomy 13 / Patau Syndrome:

Trisomy 13, or Patau Syndrome, is caused when a baby has three copies of chromosome 13, instead of two. Unfortunately, pregnancies diagnosed with Patau Syndrome are at high risk for miscarriage or stillbirth, and most babies born with Patau Syndrome will not survive beyond the first weeks of life. Babies with Patau Syndrome may have heart defects, brain or spinal cord problems, extra fingers and/or toes, an opening in the lip (cleft lip) with or without an opening in the roof of the mouth (cleft palate), and weak muscle tone. Many babies have birth defects of other organs as well.

Trisomy 22

Trisomy 22 is caused when a baby has three copies of chromosome 22, instead of two. Trisomy 22 is very rare. Unfortunately, pregnancies diagnosed with trisomy 22 are at very high risk of miscarriage or stillbirth.

Trisomy 16

Trisomy 16 is caused when a baby has three copies of chromosome 16, instead of two. Full trisomy 16 is incompatible with life and unfortunately most women will miscarry in the first trimester.

Trisomy 9

Trisomy 9 is caused when a baby has three copies of chromosome 9, instead of two. Babies born with trisomy 9 commonly have defects in the heart, kidneys, and musculoskeletal system.

Deletion Syndromes

Deletion syndromes are defined as a group of clinically recognisable disorders characterised by a small deletion of a chromosomal segment. The size and position of the deletion determine which clinical features are manifested and how severe they are.

5p / Cri-du-Chat:

Also known as 5P deletion sydnrome, babies typically exhibit small head size, low birth weight, decreased muscle tone. and have moderate to severe intellectual disability. Feeding and/or breathing difficulties are also common.

1p36:

Babies born with 1p36 deletion syndrome typically have weak muscle tone, heart and other organ defects. Most will display developmental problems and varying degrees of intellectual disability.

2q33.1:

Babies born with 2q33.1 will typically experience delayed growth and exhibit behavioural developmental problems. Severe feeding difficulties are common and the incidence of cleft palate is also high.

DiGeorge Syndrome 2:

babies born with DiGeorge syndrome 2 may present many clinical problems, including cardiac defects, hypoparathyroidism, T-cell immunodeficiency, and facial dysmorphism.

16p12.2-p11.2:

Babies born with 16p12.2-p11.2 deletion syndrome commonly have dysmorphic facial features, feeding difficulties, recurrent ear infections, developmental delay, and cognitive impairment. Additional features, such as heart defects and short stature sometime also occur.

Jacobsen Syndrome:

Jacobsen syndrome is a clinically characteristic disorder due to deletion of the terminal band 11q23. Common features of the syndrome are growth delay, psychomotor problems, a broad nasal bridge, short nose with anteverted nostrils, carp-shaped upper lip, low-set dysmorphic ears and other limb dysmorphia.

Van der Woude Syndrome:

Van der Woude syndrome is caused by a mutation in a single gene with equal distribution between the sexes. The clinical symptoms vary but may include lower lip pits with cleft lip and cleft palate.

Prader-Willi / Angelman Syndrome:

Angelman syndrome is a neurodevelopmental disorder characterized by mental disability, movement or balance disorders, and severe limitations in speech and language. Most cases are caused by absence of a maternal contribution to the imprinted region on chromosome 15q11-q13. Prader-Willi syndrome is a clinically distinct disorder resulting from paternal deletion of the same 15q11-q13 region and results in similar clinical features.

Sex Chromosomal Aneuploidy

Each cell in your body contains 46 chromosomes arranged in 23 pairs. One of these chromosome pairs is known as the sex chromosomes because this pair of chromosomes determines our sex. Sex chromosome abnormalities occur when there are extra, missing, or altered sex chromosomes present.

XXY / Klinefelter Syndrome:

Klinefelter’s syndrome is a genetic condition that only affects males. Affected males have an extra X chromosome.Males with Klinefelter’s syndrome have small testes which do not produce enough of the male hormone testosterone before birth and during puberty. This lack of testosterone means that during puberty, the normal male sexual characteristics do not develop fully. There is reduced facial and pubic hair, and some breast tissue often develops. The lack of testosterone is also responsible for other symptoms, including infertility.

X / Turner Syndrome:

Turner syndrome is caused by a completely or partially missing X sex chromosome in females. Females with Turner syndrome often have a wide range of symptoms and some distinctive characteristics. Two that occur in almost all cases of Turner syndrome are:
-being shorter than average
-underdeveloped ovaries (female reproductive organs), resulting in a lack of monthly periods and infertility.

XXX / Triple X:

Triple X syndrome, also called trisomy X is characterized by the presence of an additional X chromosome in each of a female’s cells. The symptoms and physical features associated with trisomy X vary greatly from one person to another. Some females may have no symptoms (asymptomatic) or very mild symptoms and may go undiagnosed. Other women may have a wide variety of different abnormalities.
Triple X syndrome is associated with an increased risk of learning disabilities and delayed development of speech and language skills. Delayed development of motor skills (such as sitting and walking), weak muscle tone (hypotonia), and behavioral and emotional difficulties are also possible, but these characteristics vary widely among affected girls and women. Seizures or kidney abnormalities occur in about 10 percent of affected females.

XYY / Jacob Syndrome:

XYY, sometime called Jacob syndrome, affects only males and is caused by the presence of an extra Y chromosome.
Affected individuals are usually very tall. Many experience severe acne during adolescence. Additional symptoms may include learning disabilities and behavioural problems such as impulsivity.